r18 fall conference

Note:  Participants must book by October 4th to receive the discounted room rate.

The Leadership Retreat will promote education as well as fun for all Professional and Student Chapter Members!  We welcome guests!

Student Contest Content and Rules

The Student Chapter Contest returns to the AITP Region 18
Leadership Retreat. What do you need to take on this challenge?

A Creative Mind! The computer is nothing without the HUMAN Interface!

Click here for contest specifications.

Make reservations on EVENTBRITE SITE, using this link:

Cost:  Professionals & Guests $49.00
Student Members $34.00
Saturday Evening Banquet only: $30.00
Please note: the conference cost includes all meals as well the conference ticket

Tentative Agenda

All activities and workshops have been designed to include professional and student members

Friday Evening

Check-in Pipestem Resort after 3:00PM
Many activities and restaurants are available for your comfort

6:00-8:00PM   Registration in the Lobby with Karen Kovacs
8:00-9:00PM   Registration and Snacks in the Hospitality Suite

Saturday Morning
7:45 – 8:45AM  Continental Breakfast in the Hospitality Suite
Registration: Continues in Hospitality Suite if needed

All sessions will be in the Cardinal Room.

Student Contest: students, set up your displays for viewing

9:00AM – Opening Remarks
9:15AM – Keynote Speaker – Deanne Cranford-Wesley
Topic: Emerging Technologies

Keynote Topic:  Emerging Technologies
Emerging Technology are new technologies that are currently developing or will be developed over the next five to ten years, and which will substantially alter the business and social environment as we know it today.  The speaker will share the most significant innovations in technology in 2016 and will look at emerging technologies from the lens of education, business productivity and marketing with AR technology and more.

About our Keynote Speaker:
We are pleased to announce that Dr. Deanne Cranford-Wesley will be our Keynote Speaker at the Region 18 Leadership Conference this fall.

Dr. Deanne Cranford-Wesley is currently Department Chair Davis iTEC at Forsyth Technical Community College, she formally held the position of Information System Security Program Coordinator at Forsyth Technical Community College. Dr. Cranford -Wesley is a cybersecurity professional and has appeared as a subject matter expert on Fox8 and Time Warner News discussing recent advances in cyber security vulnerability. She also teaches information security, computer forensics and networking courses in the Business Information Technology Department. Additionally, Dr. Cranford-Wesley has presented at various conferences including several presentations at The Colloquium Information System Security Education Conference.

Dr. Cranford-Wesley holds a PhD in Education Leadership with a focus in Instructional Technology and a Master of Art in Administration. Furthermore, she has obtained the following certifications; Security +, Cisco Certified Network Professional (CCNP), Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA) and Cisco Certified Instructor (CCAI).

10:20AM – Building Leaders Workshop 1
Introduce Student Contest Participants
Activity – Obtain the Building Permit
And the Construction Begins!

Break 11:20

11:30AM – Building Leaders Workshop 2
Leadership Goals & Qualities of a Good, Effective Leader
Activity – Solve the Leadership Puzzle

12:40 – 1:40 – Lunch (in the Hospitality Suite)

2:00PM – 4:00PM
Panel 1 – Bridging the Gap

Break:  Coffee, Water, Tea, Candy

Panel 2 – Professional and Student Chapter Operations

Complete conference surveys and return them to Karen Kovacs

6:30PM – Cardinal Room
Saturday Evening Skyscraper Event
Student Contest Presentations
Fun Chinese AUCTION
** Each chapter is to bring a gift – $10.00 value
50/50 Raffle

8:30AM – Hospitality Suite opens for continental breakfast

RD Meeting in the hospitality suite

Thank you, 2016 Conference Committee

Conference Committee

Brenda Angle Event Chair
 Joyce Moses  Co-Chair
 Carolyn Walters  Site Management/Budget/Hospitality Suite
 Brad Moses  Committee / Region President
 Irene Edge  Committee / Programs
 Harvey Schoenman  Committee / EventBrite
 Karen Kovacs  Committee / Registration
 Gireesh Gupta  Committee /
 Student Volunteers