October 2014 Update

Region 18 Pipestem Interest Survey Results

The results are in from the survey that some of you participated in last month. As you may recall the survey was a very short 5 questions whose purpose was to gage possible interest in attending a fun-and-family-oriented conference at Pipestem State Park in the hills of southern West Virginia. Unfortunately too few of you took the survey for us to derive any kind of meaningful intent for the region as a whole. Only 11 people took the survey (including myself) and one person was from outside the region. Based on the low participation the rest of the results are pretty much meaningless. But, the good news is that a small contingent of members from Tarheel and RTP are still going to look at putting together a Leadership Retreat at Pipestem, probably for Spring, 2015. And it still would be oriented around family and fun with some AITP chapter leadership sessions. Stay Tuned…

Harvey Schoenman, Region 18 President

Akron Chapter Past Presidents Night and Awards Ceremony

The Akron Chapter held its annual Past Presidents night on Tuesday, October 28th. In addition to a number of Past Presidents in attendance three members of the Pittsburgh Chapter – Patricia McMurray, George Ilkka and Harvey Schoenman – traveled to Akron to join in the celebration.

Region 18 President, Harvey Schoenman” presented the chapter with their COPA (Chapter Outstanding Performance Award) and ROCA (Region Chapter Outstanding Chapter) awards for 2013. He also presented three IPA (Individual Performance Award) awards. Bob Logan was presented with a Diamond IPA, Nick Regopolous with a Lifetime Emerald IPA and Barbara Shaver with AITP’s highest individual award, the Lifetime Diamond IPA. Harvey tied in the benefits of belonging to AITP with the individual and chapter awards.

Bob Logan, Barb Shaver, Harvey Schoenman and Nick Regopolous
Bob Logan, Barb Shaver, Harvey Schoenman and Nick Regopolous

Harvey Schoenman, Region 18 President

RTP November Meeting Announcement

Thursday November 13, 2014 at the NC State University Club

 CIO Panel:Insights & Perspectives

5:30 – 6:30pm: Registration/Networking; 6:30 – 7:10pm Dinner/AITP Business; 7:10 -8:30pm Featured Topic

Discussion Abstract

November is the month for the CIO Spotlight! This is one of our most popular events each year. Senior IT Executives from around the Triangle will participate in a panel discussion. This evening is always filled with insights on what really keeps the IT Leadership up at night, where they see the opportunities for IT professionals, and what skills (soft skills and technical skills) they value on their teams! More details on our speakers coming soon!


For registration details see: http://rtp-aitp.org/latest-news/

Guests are welcomed.

Pittsburgh November Meeting Announcement

This is a FREE meeting and dinner hosted by BIT9.

Mark your calendars for Monday November 17th, 5:30pm

RSVP to Join Us by emailing AITP Pittsburgh Chapter at aitp.pgh@gmail.com

Data Breaches are everywhere, will you be next?

The battleground has changed. Advanced attackers are routinely penetrating perimeter defenses and averting antivirus technologies to successfully launch attacks against endpoints and servers in search of valuable financial and regulated data. And they are succeeding. Compromise is inevitable but a massive data breach with long-lasting financial, operational and brand damages doesn’t have to be.


The Bit9 + Carbon Black Security Solution, the industry’s leading real time Endpoint Threat Prevention, Detection, and Response solution, is purposefully built to deal with these new realities and provide security and risk professionals with the ultimate advanced threat protection solution for Windows, Mac and Linux endpoints and servers. Core Technologies of Bit9 Include:

– A Real Time End Point Sensor allowing for Rapid Detection of Malware

– End point Integration with all SIEMs and Next Generation Firewalls

– An Enforcement Engine that can Stop Malware Without Signatures

Is Your organization prepared to deal with this challenge?

Attend a free presentation hosted by the AITP that will discuss the changing threat landscape and the technologies and techniques that enterprises need to adapt in their security strategies to meet this challenge

. Dinner is also included at no cost to you thanks to Bit9 and our guest speaker Harry Sverdlove CTO, BIT9.

Meeting Location: Sokol’s Hall South Side 2912 East Carson Street, Pittsburgh Pa. (free parking).

Networking and registration will be from 5:30 – 6:00 p.m.

Dinner will begin at approximately 6:00 p.m. and the Presentation will start after the meal.

*Please note reservations are essential to ensure there is sufficient food and seating available for our group. Please respond early to allow our staff ample time to prepare sufficient food and seating arrangements.

There will be no walk-ins for dinner.

For registration details see: http://www.aitp-pgh.org

Pittsburgh December Meeting Announcement

David J. Baker, the Founder, President and CEO of Human Capital Advisors, Inc., has almost 30 years of corporate and entrepreneurial HR and business experience spanning multiple industries and functions. He is particularly adept at linking human resource strategy and operations with organizational goals and objectives.

Dave holds an MA in Human Resource Management from Saint Francis University in Loretto, PA and a BA in Psychology and Industrial Relations from Saint Vincent College. He has served on the Board of Directors for the Pittsburgh Human Resource Association, the Pittsburgh Venture Capital Association, McGuire Home and other organizations focused on advancing the field of human resource management.

December 8, 2014 Returning by popular demand Dave Baker will be presenting:

“Mergers and Acquisitions – your rights as an employee”

  • What rights do employees have in an otherwise unscrupulous world?

Mergers and acquisitions (“M & A”) or “consolidations” happen all the time. It’s when businesses combine or join together to create a new, single business. There are a number of reasons why this happens. Join us and hear Mr. Dave Baker explain the reasons and your rights as an employee.

Meeting Location:   Silvioni’s, 2125 Babcock Blvd., Pittsburgh, Pa. 15209

Meeting Date: December 8, 2014

  • Cost: $24
  • Networking and registration will be from 5:30 – 6:00 p.m.
  • Dinner will begin at approximately 6:00 p.m. and the Presentation will start after the meal.
  • RSVP to Join Us by emailing AITP Pittsburgh Chapter at   aitp.pgh@gmail.com
  • Don’t miss this great opportunity!

For registration details see: http://www.aitp-pgh.org